Psalms 10-19

Read to appreciate the consistency of DIDACHE vocabulary regarding the ‘Two Ways’ of righteousness vs. lawlessness.

Psalm 10
(1)  Why do You stand afar off, O Jehovah? Will You hide in times of trouble?
(2)  The wicked in his pride persecutes the poor; let them be taken in the plans that they have imagined.
(3)  For the wicked boasts of his heart’s desire, and blesses the covetous whom Jehovah despises.
(4)  Through the pride of his face the wicked will not seek Him; There is no God in all his schemes.
(5)  His ways are always perverted; Your judgments are high, out of his sight. As for all his enemies, he puffs at them.
(6)  He has said in his heart, I shall not be moved; from generation to generation, never in evil!
(7)  His mouth is full of cursing and deceit and fraud; under his tongue are mischief and vanity.
(8)  He sits in the hiding-places of the villages; in the secret places he murders the innocent. His eyes are secretly set against the poor.
(9)  He lies in wait secretly, like a lion in his den. He lies in wait to catch the poor; he catches the poor when he draws him into his net.
(10)  He crouches and bows, and the poor have fallen by his might.
(11)  He has said in his heart, God has forgotten; He hides His face; He will not see forever!
(12)  Arise, O Jehovah; O God, lift up Your hand; forget not the humble.
(13)  Why do the wicked condemn God? He has said in his heart, You will not judge.
(14)  You have seen it; for You behold mischief and vexation, to repay it with Your hand. The poor commits himself to You; You are the Helper of the fatherless.
(15)  Break the arm of the wicked and the evil one; seek out his wickedness, until You find none.
(16)  Jehovah is King forever and ever; the nations have perished out of His land.
(17)  Jehovah, You have heard the desire of the humble; You will prepare their heart, You will cause Your ear to hear,
(18)  to judge the fatherless and the oppressed, so that the man of the earth may no more terrify.

Psalm 11

(1)  To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David. I put my trust in Jehovah; how can you say to me, Flee like a bird to the mountains;
(2)  for lo, the wicked bend their bow; they make ready their arrow on the string, so that they may secretly shoot at the upright in heart.
(3)  If the foundations are destroyed, what can the righteous do?
(4)  Jehovah is in His holy temple; Jehovah’s throne is in Heaven; His eyes behold, His eyelids examine the children of men.
(5)  Jehovah tries the righteous; but His soul hates the wicked and the one who loves violence,
(6)  On the wicked He shall rain snares, fire and brimstone; and a horrible tempest shall be the portion of their cup.
(7)  For the righteous Jehovah loves righteousness; His face looks on the upright.

Psalm 12

(1)  To the Chief Musician, on eight. A Psalm of David. Help, Jehovah, for the godly man ceases; for the faithful fail from among the sons of men.
(2)  They speak vanity each one with his neighbor; with flattering lips and a double heart they speak.
(3)  Jehovah shall cut off all flattering lips, the tongue that speaks proud things,
(4)  that has said, With our tongue we shall do much; our lips are our own; who is lord over us?
(5)  For the oppression of the poor, for the sighing of the needy, I will now arise, says Jehovah. I will set in safety, he pants for it.
(6)  The Words of Jehovah are pure Words, like silver tried in a furnace of earth, purified seven times.
(7)  You shall keep them, O Jehovah, You shall preserve them from this generation forever.
(8)  The wicked walk on every side, when vileness is praised by the sons of men.

Psalm 13

(1)  To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David. How long will You forget me, O Jehovah? Forever? How long will You hide Your face from me?
(2)  How long shall I take counsel in my heart having sorrow in my heart daily? How long shall my enemy be lifted up over me?
(3)  Look! Answer me, O Jehovah my God; enlighten my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,
(4)  lest my enemy say, I have overcome him, and my foes rejoice when I am shaken.
(5)  But I have trusted in Your mercy; my heart shall rejoice in Your salvation.
(6)  I will sing to Jehovah, because He has rewarded me.

Psalm 14

(1)  To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David. The fool has said in his heart, There is no God! They acted corruptly; they have done abominable works, there is none who does good.
(2)  Jehovah looked down from Heaven on the sons of men, to see if there were any who understood and sought God.
(3)  All have gone aside, together they are filthy; there is none who does good, no, not one.
(4)  Have all the workers of iniquity not known, eating up My people as they eat bread? They have not called on Jehovah.
(5)  There they were in great fear; for God is in the generation of the righteous.
(6)  You have shamed the counsel of the poor, because Jehovah is his refuge.
(7)  Who will bring the salvation of Israel out of Zion? When Jehovah brings back the captivity of His people, Jacob shall rejoice, and Israel shall be glad.

Psalm 15

(1)  A Psalm of David. Jehovah, who shall dwell in Your tabernacle? Who shall dwell on Your holy hill?
(2)  He who walks uprightly, and works righteousness, and speaks the truth in his heart;
(3)  he does not backbite with his tongue, nor does evil to his neighbor, nor takes up a reproach against his neighbor;
(4)  in whose eyes the reprobate is despised, but he honors those who fear Jehovah; he has sworn to his hurt, and does not change it;
(5)  he has not put out his money at interest, nor has he taken a bribe against the innocent. He who does these things shall not be moved forever.

Psalm 16

(1)  A Secret Treasure of David. Watch over me, O God; for in You do I put my trust.
(2)  Oh my soul, you have said to Jehovah, You are my Lord; I have no goodness apart from You.
(3)  As to the saints in the earth, they are the excellent, in whom is all my delight.
(4)  Their sorrows shall be multiplied who run after another god. I will not pour out their drink offerings of blood; and I will not take their names on my lips.
(5)  Jehovah is the portion of my inheritance, and of my cup; You shall uphold my lot.
(6)  The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; yea, I have a beautiful inheritance.
(7)  I will bless Jehovah, who has given me wisdom; my heart also instructs me in the nights.
(8)  I have set Jehovah always before Me; because He is at My right hand, I shall not be moved.
(9)  Therefore My heart is glad, and My glory rejoices; My flesh also shall rest in hope;
(10)  For You will not leave My soul in hell; You will not allow Your Holy One to see corruption.
(11)  You will make Me know the way of life; in Your presence is fullness of joys. At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

Psalm 17

(1)  A Prayer of David. Hear the right, O Jehovah; listen to my cry; Give ear to my prayer, for it is not in lips of deceit.
(2)  Let my judgment go out from Your presence; let Your eyes behold uprightly.
(3)  You have proved my heart; You have visited me in the night; You have tried me, and You will find nothing; my thoughts do not pass beyond my mouth.
(4)  Concerning the works of men, by the Words of Your lips, I am kept from the paths of the destroyer.
(5)  My steps have been held in Your paths, so that my footsteps have not slipped.
(6)  I have called on You, for You will hear me, O God; bow down Your ear to me; hear my speech.
(7)  Set out Your wonderful loving-kindness, O Savior of those seeking refuge in You, by Your right hand, from those who rise up against me.
(8)  Keep me as the pupil, the daughter of the eye; hide me under the shadow of Your wings,
(9)  from the face of the wicked who strip me. Those against my soul, My foes, encircle me.
(10)  They are enclosed in their own fat; with their mouth they speak proudly,
(11)  they have now hemmed in our steps, they have set their eyes to bow me to the earth,
(12)  their likeness is like a lion that longs to tear, and like a young lion lurking in secret places.
(13)  Arise, O Jehovah, disappoint him, bow him down; deliver my soul from the wicked by Your sword,
(14)  from men by Your hand, O Jehovah, from men of the world whose portion is in this life, and whose belly You fill with Your treasure. They are satisfied with sons, and will leave their riches to their babes.
(15)  As for me, I will behold Your face in righteousness; when I awake, I shall be satisfied with Your image.

Psalm 18

(1)  To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David, the servant of Jehovah, who spoke to Jehovah the words of this song in the day that Jehovah delivered him from the hand of all his enemies, and from the hand of Saul; and he said: I love You, O Jehovah, my strength.
(2)  Jehovah is my strength, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my rock; I will trust in Him; He is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower.
(3)  I will call on Jehovah, who is worthy to be praised; so shall I be saved from my enemies.
(4)  The sorrows of death hemmed me in, and the floods of ungodly men made me afraid.
(5)  The sorrows of hell surrounded me; the snares of death confronted me.
(6)  In my distress I called on Jehovah, and I cried to my God; He heard my voice out of His temple, and my cry came before Him, into His ears.
(7)  Then the earth shook and trembled; and the foundations of the hills moved and were shaken, because He was angry.
(8)  A smoke went up out of His nostrils, and fire devoured out of His mouth; coals were kindled by it.
(9)  And He bowed the heavens and came down, and darkness was under His feet.
(10)  And He rode on a cherub, and flew; yea, He soared on the wings of the wind.
(11)  He made darkness His secret place, His pavilion around Him, darkness of waters, thick clouds of the skies.
(12)  At the brightness before Him, His dark clouds passed through, hailstones and coals of fire passed.
(13)  Jehovah also thundered in the heavens, and the Highest gave forth His voice; hailstones and coals of fire.
(14)  Yea, He sent out His arrows and scattered them; and He shot out lightnings and crushed them.
(15)  Then the channels of waters were seen, and the foundations of the world were uncovered, at Your rebuke, O Jehovah, at the blast of the breath of Your nostrils.
(16)  He sent from above, He took me, He drew me out of many waters.
(17)  He delivered me from my strong enemy, and from those who hated me; for they were too strong for me.
(18)  They went before me in the day of my calamity; but Jehovah was my stay.
(19)  He brought me forth also into a large place; He delivered me because He delighted in me.
(20)  Jehovah rewarded me according to my righteousness; according to the cleanness of my hands He has repaid me.
(21)  For I have kept the ways of Jehovah, and have not wickedly departed from my God.
(22)  For all His judgments were before me, and I did not put away His Precepts from me.
(23)  I was also upright before Him, and I kept myself from my iniquity.
(24)  And Jehovah has returned to me according to my righteousness, according to the cleanness of my hands in His eyes.
(25)  With the merciful, You will show Yourself merciful; with an upright man You will show Yourself upright;
(26)  with the pure You will show Yourself pure; and with the crooked You will show Yourself perverse.
(27)  For You will save the afflicted people, but will bring down high looks.
(28)  For You will light my candle; Jehovah my God will make my darkness light.
(29)  For by You I have run through a troop; and by my God I have leaped over a wall.
(30)  As for God, His way is perfect; the Word of Jehovah is tried; He is a shield to all those who trust in Him.
(31)  For who is God besides Jehovah? Or, who is a Rock except our God?
(32)  It is God who girds me with strength and makes my way perfect.
(33)  He makes my feet like hinds’ feet, and sets me on my high places.
(34)  He teaches my hands to war, so that a bow of bronze is bent by my arms.
(35)  You have also given me the shield of Your salvation; and Your right hand has held me up, and Your gentleness has made me great.
(36)  You have given a wide place for my steps under me, so that my feet have not slipped.
(37)  I have pursued my enemies and overtaken them; nor did I turn again until they were destroyed.
(38)  I have shattered them, and they cannot rise again; they have fallen under my feet.
(39)  For You have girded me with strength for the battle; You have humbled under me those who rose up against me.
(40)  You have also given me the neck of my enemies; so that I might destroy those who hate me.
(41)  They cried, but there was none to save; even to Jehovah, but He did not answer them.
(42)  Then I beat them small as the dust before the wind; I cast them out like the dirt in the streets.
(43)  You have delivered Me from the strivings of the people; You have made Me the head of the nations; a people whom I have not known shall serve Me.
(44)  As soon as they hear of Me, they shall obey Me; the sons of strangers shall bow down to Me.
(45)  The sons of strangers shall fade away and be afraid out of their strongholds.
(46)  Jehovah lives; and blessed be my rock, and let the God of my salvation be praised.
(47)  It is God who avenges me, and humbles the people under me.
(48)  He delivers me from my enemies; yea, You lift me up above those who rise up against me; You have delivered me from the violent man.
(49)  Therefore I will give thanks to You, O Jehovah, among the nations, and sing praises to Your name,
(50)  magnifying the salvations to His king, and working mercy to His anointed, to David, and to his seed forevermore.

Psalm 19

(1)  To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David. The heavens declare the glory of God; and the expanse proclaims His handiwork.
(2)  Day to day pours forth speech, and night to night reveals knowledge.
(3)  There is no speech nor are there words; their voice is not heard.
(4)  Their line has gone out through all the earth and their words to the end of the world. In them He has set a tabernacle for the sun,
(5)  and he comes forth as a bridegroom from his canopy; he rejoices as a strong man to run a race,
(6)  going forth from the end of the heavens, and its course is to their ends. And there is nothing hid from its heat.
(7)  The Law of Jehovah is perfect, converting the soul; the testimony of Jehovah is sure, making the simple wise.
(8)  The Precepts of Jehovah are right, rejoicing the heart; the Commandments of Jehovah are pure, giving light to the eyes.
(9)  The fear of Jehovah is clean, enduring forever; the judgments of Jehovah are true and righteous altogether,
(10)  more to be desired than gold, even much fine gold; sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb.
(11)  And Your servant is warned by them; in keeping them there is great reward.
(12)  Who can understand his errors? Oh make me pure from secret faults;
(13)  and keep Your servant back from presumptuous sins; do not let them rule over me; then I shall be upright, and I shall be innocent of great transgression.
(14)  Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in Your sight, O Jehovah, my Rock and my Redeemer.

Leave a comment

Filed under DIDACHE and Psalms

Leave a Reply

